top of page

2022 May Wright Sewall Leadership Award Event

Get your tickets now for the May Wright Sewall Leadership Award event on August 18. Cocktail Hour begins at 5:30, award ceremony at 6:30 and dinner at 7:00. Act fast because R.S.V.P.s are due no later than August 4. Tickets are available here.

This year’s awardees, Janet Allen and Katherine Kiang, reflect May Wright Sewall’s commitment to broadening the arts and culture scene of Indianapolis and educational opportunities for girls.

About the Awardees

Janet Allen is the Margot Lacy Eccles Artistic Director at the Indiana Repertory Theater. Allen has solidified the Indiana Repertory Theater’s reputation as a top-flight regional theatre dedicated to diverse programming and production quality, but also has significantly diversified the theater’s services to adults and children. She began at the IRT in 1980 as the theatre’s first literary manager–dramaturg. Named the IRT’s fourth artistic director in 1996, she is now in her 27th season in that role. In March 2020, she was named the Margot Lacy Eccles Artistic Director. named an Indiana Living Legend by the Indiana Historical Society.

Katherine Kiang demonstrates the positive effects a young woman can have on the next generation of females. Katherine is a bioengineer who provides technical support for making medicine and manufacturing at Eli Lilly. Outside of job responsibilities, Katherine is involved in Eli Lilly’s Women Engineering Network where she’s implemented a reverse mentoring program and her manufacturing site’s Diversity Equity and Inclusion team where she’s championed community volunteer partnerships that all folks can participate in. Outside of work Katherine has been the outreach director for the Society of Women Engineers since 2018 and has shifted the outreach priorities to have more focus on accessibility and diversity, including promoting STEM for girls in her outreach efforts. Katherine is also a Big Brothers Big Sister mentor.

Featured Posts