

2024 MAY WRIGHT SEWALL LEADERSHIP AWARD DEANA HAWORTH Hirons, CEO

The Indianapolis Propylaeum is proud to present Deana Haworth with the 2024 May Wright Sewall Leadership Award.

Deana began her career as a public relations specialist at Hirons and immediately began an upward trajectory serving in various account leadership roles. Now a 23-year veteran of the agency, she serves as chief executive officer and oversees all departments in the agency. She is the first woman to serve in this role in the agency's 45-year history.

Deana has led marketing, communications and public outreach efforts for countless campaigns.

Deana earned her Accreditation in Public Relations from the Public Relations Society of America and routinely donates her time to leadership organizations, nonprofits and chambers of commerce throughout Central Indiana to provide training on crisis communications and stakeholder outreach. She was named a 2018 Woman of Influence by the Indianapolis Business Journal. Deana has a master's degree in public relations from Ball State University and a bachelor's degree in journalism from Franklin College.

In 2010, the Ball State University Department of Journalism presented their Young Alumnus Award to Deana for her success as a consummate public relations practitioner and counselor. Deana served her alma mater as a member of the Ball State University School of Journalism Advisory Council from 2010 to 2019. She also served for several years as the council's representative on the university's Alumni Council. Deana was recently presented with the 2022 Outstanding Journalism Alumna Award from Ball State University's School of Journalism and Strategic Communication for her devotion to exceptional communications and public relations practices.

Deana serves on the boards of the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, Indy Chamber, Greater Indianapolis Progress Committee, Central Indiana Women's Business Center, Downtown Indy Inc. Marketing Board and Crossroads of America Council. Deana is an active member of the Indianapolis chapter of the National Association of Women Business Owners. She is also a trustee and former adjunct instructor at Franklin College.



2024 MAY WRIGHT SEWALL LEADERSHIP AWARD

DR. VIRGINIA CAINE

Marion County Public Health Department, Director & Chief Medical Officer

The Indianapolis Propylaeum is proud to present Dr. Virginia Caine with the 2024 May Wright Sewall Leadership Award.

Virginia A. Caine, M.D. is director and chief medical officer of the Marion County Public Health Department. She is an associate professor of medicine at Indiana University School of Medicine's Infectious Diseases Division. She served as the President for the American Public Health Association, the nation's oldest and largest public health organization. She received the BioCrossroads "2017 August M. Watanabe Life Sciences Champion of the Year" award.

Dr. Caine works tirelessly to promote and advance public health through innovative programs and unprecedented collaborations. With a national reputation for her work in public health through the Marion County Public Health Department, Dr. Caine was instrumental in setting up the first nationwide physician educational program regarding AIDS for the National Medical Association, which was later duplicated by the American Medical Association. She led a countywide process with local primary care agencies dealing with HIV/AIDS, to create the city's first integrated HIV health care delivery system. She was principal investigator for the Ryan White Title III funds, which established the first AIDS clinics in major city hospitals, ten community health centers, and resources for community-based HIV/AIDS prevention programs.

Indianapolis once had the distinction of having the highest Black infant mortality rate in the country. As co-director of the Indianapolis Healthy Babies Initiative, she was instrumental with community leaders in an effort that reduced the Black infant mortality rate to its lowest level ever in the history of Indianapolis by 46%.

She is chairman of the Board of Trustees for the National Medical Association and current chair of the Infectious Diseases Section. She is a board member for the CDC Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) Editorial Board. She is also chair of the Managed Emergency Surge for Healthcare (MESH) Coalition, a nonprofit public-private partnership addressing emergency preparedness in Marion County, Indiana, as well as the IU Simon Cancer Center Community Advisory Committee. She is a member of the National Biodefense Science Board, which provides expert advice and guidance to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the assistant secretary of preparedness. She is also co-chair for the Jump In for Healthy Kids Advisory Committee; founding member of the Indiana Health Information Exchange, and board member of the Indiana Latino Institute.

Dr. Caine earned her medical degree at New York Upstate Medical Center in Syracuse. She completed her internal medicine residency at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. She received her Infectious Diseases fellowship training at the University of Washington in Seattle.



2024 MAY WRIGHT SEWALL LEADERSHIP AWARD

PAST RECIPIENTS

- Barbara Oliphant
- Bonnie Carter
- Cheryl Sparks
- Cordelia Lewis-Burks
- Debora Hearn Smith
- Doris Dimond
- Dr. Jamia Jasper Case Jacobsen
- Dr. Mary E. Busch
- Dr. Sue Ellspermann
- Elaine Bedel
- Glenda Ritz
- Janice Michael
- Janet Allen
- Judy O'Bannon

- Katherine Kiang
- Kathleen Prechtel
- Lt. Gov. Becky Skillman
- Marianne Glick
- Mary V. Anderson
- Meme Kramer
- Myra Borschoff
- Pearl Bassett
- Phyllis Geeslin
- Rose Marie Pennington
- Sallie Rowland
- Vi Simposon

