top of page

About The Propylaeum

Indy Prop 2022-10-21 High Res_-14.jpg
Nestled in the Old Northside historic district, the Propylaeum, is a vital part of the city’s future as well as a cornerstone of its history. Founded in 1888, our mission is the place that connects and celebrates women.

The Indianapolis Propylaeum is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. for free self-guided tours of the mansion and grounds.

Our Mission

The Propylaeum Historic Foundation, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is “The place that connects and celebrates women.”

Our Goals

  • A welcoming place for women to use their voice, inspire leadership, connect with others, and continue the legacy of women supporting women.
  • Programs that offer opportunities for enrichment, education, exploration, culture, and community.
  • Preserve and maintain the place that has been the home for women since 1923.

Our Values

  • Collaboration We believe that the sum of the whole is greater than its individual parts, and working together inspires creativity and community. 
  • Inclusivity – We invite all people to experience our programs and facilities. We are enriched by people from different backgrounds and life experiences.
  • Leadership – We support women’s potential for leaderships in all their spheres of influence.
  • Stewardship – We are an important part of the cultural life of our community. We know and honor the legacy that came before us, foster the deep attachments to the Propylaeum, and embrace change for the future.
  • Integrity – We take our fiduciary responsibility seriously and are transparent in our communications, interactions, and intentions. We act in good faith and honor our commitments.

Our Vision

The historic place where women meet.

Meet The Propylaeum Team

for contact info hover over the image

Liz Ellis

Executive Director


option #5

Liz Ellis

Executive Director


Events & Marketing


option #4

LaurieAnne Perez
Events & Marketing

Propylaeum Board of Directors

 Rose Wernicke - President
 Jim Glass - Vice President 
 Susan Fasig - Treasurer
Christine Smith- Secretary
 Board Members
 Alex Barnstead
 Roni Embry
Lisa Hague
 pegg kennedy
Marjorie Kienle
 Cathy Michel
 Karen Pfeiffer
 Debra Renkens
Barb Richardson
Melissa Smith
Angela Stevens Tarter
bottom of page